Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

zumvfhlvttgnafv3jczfr11lnvyubfifvnoexsfjwy4w2zrnzkibubawvxegd1cs
“‘Devil’s Snare, Devil’s Snare… What did Professor Sprout say? It likes the dark and the damp -‘ ‘So light a fire!’ Harry choked. ‘Yes – of course – but there’s no wood!’ Hermione cried, wringing her hands. ‘HAVE YOU GONE MAD?’ Ron bellowed. ‘ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT?'”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility. All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley – a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry – and anyone who reads about him – will find unforgettable.”

Review: In my entire 23 years of life, there is no single book that I have read more times than Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. While I have read all of the other books in the Harry Potter series many, many times, the first book, by virtue of being the first, remains my all-time most-read. I love Harry Potter. I love EVERY SINGLE THING about Harry Potter. I wrote myself a Hogwarts acceptance letter and stuffed it into my own Christmas stocking when I was 11 years old. I almost cried when I got to visit “The Wizarding World of Harry Potter” at Universal Orlando. A quick perusal through my room will turn up the following items: golden Snitch , Gryffindor scarf, Marauder’s Map mug, Time Turner key-chain. I am saving up to buy a $35 Marauder’s Map replica (i.e., I’m willing to spend $35 on a large piece of paper because of its role in the Harry Potter series). I practically learned to read because of Harry Potter. Many years ago, our family had an evening ritual: everyone would pile into my parent’s bed and my mom and dad would read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to my brother and I. But when they both got sick at the same time and our evening readings were indefinitely suspended, I finished the book myself. I tell you all of this so that you have the necessary background to understand my next statement: there will never be a book I love as much as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I would not be the person I am today without this series. Ten stars to Gryffindor, and haters be damned!

Reason for Ban/Challenge: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, along with the rest of the Harry Potter series, has faced opposition from several religious groups. The primary accusation is that the novel glorifies witchcraft. Other complaints are that the series is too dark and that the books set bad examples. To the people who would like to see this series banned, I would direct them to one of the book’s most famous quotes. For as Dumbledore said:

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living and, above all, those who live without [being able to read Harry Potter because bigots and people with large sticks up their a**es ban and challenge the series] love.”

I may have embellished a *little*.

Rating:

Five_Star

Bonus: Edited cover from the Buzzfeed article titled “19 Banned Books if They Were Made Appropriate” (http://www.buzzfeed.com/juliapugachevsky/banned-books-if-they-were-g-rated#.oh3oNwL0b).

Harry_Potter

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

