BONUS BOOK: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah Maas

77493_original
“There was such a thing as Fate – because Fate had made sure I was there to eavesdrop when they’d spoken in private, because Fate had whispered to Tamlin that the cold, contrary girl he’d dragged to his home would be the one to break his spell, because Fate had kept me alive just to get to this point, just to see if I had been listening.”

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “She stole a life. Now she must pay with her heart. When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal but Tamlin – one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As Feyre dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility to a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin – and his world – forever. From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive and breathtaking new book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into her most unforgettable story yet.”

Review: As previously mentioned in my review for Cinder by Marissa Meyer, I really enjoy fairy-tale retellings. For that reason, I had high hopes for A Court of Thorns and Roses, which was described to me as a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I also expected A Court of Thorns and Roses to be more fantasy/adventure oriented than romance oriented (given how it was initially marketed). Unfortunately, A Court of Thorns and Roses ended up being a poorly contrived romance with remarkably slow exterior plot development. I know many readers would strongly disagree with me, but the central driver of the plot was Tamlin and Feyre’s developing relationship, not anything going on in the faerie world of Prythian. The only time when I felt the plot really picked up was when Tamlin and Feyre were separated and Feyre had to try and scheme her way to guaranteeing Tamlin’s safety. Finishing A Court of Thorns and Roses left me with no desire to pick up the recently-released sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury. But the same coworker who recommended I read The Raven Cycle series has told me that A Court of Mist and Fury is leaps and bounds better than its predecessor (this sentiment seems to be wide-spread, based on online reviews that I’ve seen). I think I’ll give the second book a try, but A Court of Thorns and Roses has left me with relatively low expectations.

Rating:

Two_Star

One thought on “BONUS BOOK: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah Maas

Leave a Reply

