BONUS BOOK: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

5119ihf8lul
“The sorrow belongs to us all, but I know you bear the weight more than anyone.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her ‘glamour’ to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told… until now. Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death.”

Review: I have to admit, I wasn’t REALLY looking forward to Fairest. I put this book on my “To Read” list after finishing Winter, when I was trying to find someway to stall the end of the Lunar Chronicles. I think Levana is an excellent and captivating villain, but I honestly didn’t really care about her backstory. I was convinced that Fairest would be a story of how the young, innocent, kind princess turned into an evil queen after lost love or family tragedy. With that in mind, I was actually pleasantly surprised by the angle of Fairest. Meyer never lets her readers believe that Levana isn’t crazy or bad. Instead, she shows the reader how Levana evolved from a manipulative, lovesick teenager into a cruel villain. She is just as crazy in Fairest as she is in all of the other Lunar Chronicle books, but Fairest provides a more in-depth look at how different facets of her life contributed to her growing desire for total control and power. That being said, I didn’t find Fairest to be a very interesting read and it took me longer to finish this relatively short book than I anticipated. I think I might actually enjoy Stars Above, Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles short story collection, better than Fairest (even though I have a general aversion to novellas when they accompany a series). We’ll see!

Rating:

Two_Star

Leave a Reply

