BONUS BOOK: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean

book-peregrine
“Yet as we stood loading our boats in the breaking dawn, on a brand-new precipice of before and after, I realized that leaving wouldn’t be like I had imagined.”

Genre: Graphic Novel, Fantasy, Adventure, Mystery, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “When Jacob Portman was a boy, his grandfather regaled him with stories of his fantastic life at Miss Peregrine’s home during the Second World War, even sharing photos of the remarkable children with whom he resided. As Jacob grew up, though, he decided that these photos were obvious fakes, simple forgeries designed to stir his youthful imagination. Or were they…? Following his grandfather’s death – a scene Jacob literally couldn’t believe with his own eyes – the sixteen-year-old boy embarks on a mission to disentangle fact from fiction in his grandfather’s tall tales. But even his grandfather’s elaborate yarns couldn’t prepare Jacob for the eccentricities he will discover at Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children! Artist Cassandra Jean, who rendered the graphic novel version of Beautiful Creatures, now turns her “peculiar’ eye to this fully illustrated adaptation of Ransom Rigg’s international bestseller!”

Review: Despite having somewhat neutral (to negative) feelings towards Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (see my earlier review here), I have been meaning to get my hands on the graphic novel version ever since I learned of its existence. And as my first ever graphic novel reading experience, I have to say that Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel did not disappoint. The illustrations themselves were done in a very unique and distinctive fashion that kept me even more engaged than the original text had. I particularly loved how the pictures went from black and white to full color once Jacob entered the loop. I still think that the overall story has some flaws, which even the graphic novel couldn’t fully overcome, but all in all I enjoyed this read a lot more than I expected. Having loved this first Peregrine’s graphic novel, I’m really looking forward to Hollow City: The Graphic Novel. However, I was glad that I had read the full text version of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children before reading the graphic novel, so I think I’ll give the original Hollow City a try and then focus on the second graphic novel.

Rating:

Four_Star

One thought on “BONUS BOOK: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel by Ransom Riggs and Cassandra Jean

Leave a Reply

