BONUS BOOK: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

“It had become one of the defining truths of my life, that no matter how I tried to keep them flattened, two-dimensional, jailed in paper and ink, there would always be stories that refused to stay bound inside books.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children. They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

Review: I must admit, I’m rather happy to be done with the Miss Peregrine’s series. Try as I might, I could never quite get into it like many other readers have. I knew after Hollow City that I wanted to finish the series, but it wasn’t until I saw Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children in theaters that I really felt a push to read the final book (I really enjoyed the movie, by the way!). For me, the first half of Library of Souls dragged. As Jacob, Emma, and Addison raced around Devil’s Acre, looking for clues to the location of their peculiar friends and ymbrynes, I consistently had trouble staying engaged. Despite a surplus of action, I often felt bored with the plot pace. The last third of the book is an improvement, with Jacob discovering the full extent of his peculiar abilities and working to free his friends from Caul’s fortress. Overall, however, I never really became invested in the characters or the storyline, which meant that each novel in this series essentially extended the plateau I had reached in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I also felt like the second and third books did not incorporate Riggs’ vintage photographs nearly as well as the first book did, which contributed to an overall disappointment in the storytelling on my end. I’m happy to have finished the series but likely won’t return to it anytime soon.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s