BONUS BOOK: Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater

18406862
“I gave so many damns at once that it actually hurt.”

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Cole St. Clair has come to California for one reason: to get Isabel Culpeper back. She fled from his damaged, drained life, and damaged and drained it even more. He doesn’t just want her. He needs her. Isabel is trying to build herself a life in Los Angeles. It’s not really working. She can play the game as well as all the other fakes… but what’s the point? What is there to win? Cole and Isabel share a past that never seemed to have a future. They have the power to save each other and the power to tear each other apart. The only thing for certain is that they cannot let go.”

Review: Despite my lackluster experience with Forever (which was likely at least partially due to my mistake of reading the Wolves of Mercy Falls series out of order), I can’t seem to give up on Maggie Stiefvater. I found Isabel and Cole to be somewhat compelling characters in Forever, and was interested to see what Stiefvater would do with the duo in this final, somewhat standalone installment. Overall, however, I was still disappointed. I found the general plot trajectory pretty stupid (Cole goes to L.A. not only to win Isabel back, but also to participate in a reality show) and there was very little character development. Cole and Isabel were almost constantly at odds; this ended up being frustrating because many of their problems could have been easily solved with improved communication. I also found it hard to believe that, given the events of both Forever and Sinner, Cole and Isabel could actually end up together in a stable, drama-free, long-term relationship. The supplementary characters were lacking for the most part. I really enjoyed hearing about Isabel’s eccentric and mega Type A cousin, Olivia, but her part in the novel was minimal. I do plan on reading Linger (the second book in the series) because I want to finish the series out, but I have pretty low expectations at this point. As I’ve said before, Stiefvater’s other books and series are, in my opinion, much better than the Wolves of Mercy Falls series.

Rating:

Two_Star

Leave a Reply

