BONUS BOOK: Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

cover_linger_300
“Surrounded by wolves, I sat on the forest floor as the sun sank in the sky and the shadows of the pines grew, and I wondered how much time I had.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Romance, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means a reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain. Into their world comes a new wolf named Cole, whose past is full of hurt and danger. He is wrestling with his own demons, embracing the life of a wolf while denying the ties of being human. For Grace, Sam, and Cole, life is a constant struggle between two forces – wolf and human – with love baring its two sides as well. It is harrowing and euphoric, freeing and entrapping, enticing and alarming. As their world falls apart, love is what lingers. But will it be enough?”

Review: Okay. I know that I may have partly doomed the Wolves of Mercy Falls series by reading everything completely out of order. BUT I still can only give Linger two stars out of five because while it does have some improvements over Forever, Sam and Grace are still bland characters. I think one thing that has bothered me about this entire series is that there is never really any forward plot development. If you make a list of concrete events that happen in Linger, it ends up being an incredibly short list. There’s a ton of flowery narration with little to no action, and for that reason Linger ended up being very boring. All four of the main characters are terrible at communicating (as are the supplementary characters, now that I think about it), which was very frustrating to me. Overall, I’m still a big Stiefvater fan but I have no interest in this particular series.

Rating:

Two_Star

Leave a Reply

