New Year, New Reading Goals

new years eve 2017

Happy new year! Looking back on 2016, I have to say the Banned Book Brigade had a pretty pretty great year; I read 102 books (reviews forthcoming)! Through the many hassles associated with moving to a new country and starting graduate school, I still managed to make reading a priority and that’s something I’m proud of. One of the main reasons I started this blog was because I wanted to get back into reading, but had no idea where to start. I am happy to say that not knowing what to read next is no longer a problem of mine. A combination of reading so much over the past year as well as my job at a bookstore has given me an ever-growing list of books to read. However, I think I also lost track of some of the other goals I wanted to accomplish through this blog. I fell down a genre rabbit hole and have just recently started to claw my way out. With that in mind, my goal for the coming year is to continue reading and enjoying books of all genres, but to more evenly spread my efforts. I plan on cycling through banned books, adult fiction, young adult fiction, and nonfiction (although I can’t promise I’ll stick to this formula if I stumble upon a really great series…). In this way, 2017 will be the year of “using my power for good” and approaching reading as a way to expand my worldview and better understand experiences that are not my own. Thanks to all the loyal BBB followers for hanging in there, and I hope you each have a fruitful, literary 2017!

One thought on “New Year, New Reading Goals

Leave a Reply

