Animal Farm: A Fairy Story by George Orwell

animalfarm
“Man is the only creature that consumes without producing.”

Genre: Fiction, Allegory

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Mr. Jones of Manor Farm is so lazy and drunken that one day he forgets to feed his livestock. The ensuing rebellion under the leadership of the pigs Napoleon and Snowball leads to the animals taking over the farm. Vowing to eliminate the terrible inequities of the farm, the renamed Animal Farm is organized to benefit all who walk on four legs. But as time passes, the ideals of the rebellion are corrupted, then forgotten. And something new and unexpected emerges…”

Review: Whew! Sorry for the delay in reviews. I can assure you that I’ve been reading, but I’ve also been swamped with school-related commitments these past few weeks. My work load is unlikely to let up in the near future, but I’ve carved out some Banned Book Brigade time tonight! I’ve been meaning to get to Animal Farm for awhile, and I’m glad I finally found some time. This book was a quick, easy, and interesting read. Orwell told the story in a very poignant way, and I can understand why this book is required reading for many American high schoolers. Overall, it’s not my favorite classic (I found it somewhat difficult to stay engaged despite the short length), but it was well-written and well-nuanced. Given the current political climate in the United States, I’m glad that I read Animal Farm now. A certain American president reminds me of Squealer… Not Napoleon. Said President would probably like to think of himself as Napoleon, but I think he’s more of a Squealer.

Reason for Ban/Challenge: As it turns out, Animal Farm has been banned in many countries, but it’s rarely banned in the United States. I was confused at first, since I primarily utilized the American Library Association’s banned book list to create my own list, but then I remembered that I updated my list of Banned Books by adding the books on a banned book mug I received for Christmas last year. The mug includes banned books from all around the world, not just from the United States. Animal Farm has been banned in other countries largely due to its negative portrayal of Communism.

Rating:

Three_Star

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

