BONUS BOOK: Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead

41bllhztkwl-_sx329_bo1204203200_
“The words were wonderful and dangerous.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Romance, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis:Rose knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend, Lissa – the last Dragomir princess – must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes to gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken… Then a strange darkness begins to grow in Rose’s mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. The immortal undead are closing in, and they want vengeance for the lives Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most… but will her choice mean that only one can survive?”

Review: Unfortunately, it looks like this is the end of the line for Richelle Mead and I. I’ve read four of her novels now, but Shadow Kiss will unfortunately join The Glittering Court with a one star rating (bringing my average rating for Mead books down to 1.5 stars). While I found Vampire Academy to be a fun, escapist read, I sensed that things were starting to go downhill with FrostbiteAnd now, having finished Shadow Kiss, I can say with certainty that I am not a Richelle Mead fan. Her characters end up feeling extremely one dimensional. All of Rose’s spunk and sass that I enjoyed reading about in Vampire Academy is gone in this third installment and, from what I read, the fourth book in the series does nothing to rectify that. The Rose/Lissa relationship, which is falsely marketed as the foundation of the series, has stalled in development since the first book. There are too many moments that make me cringe or roll my eyes, and for that reason I’m officially done with the Vampire Academy series.

Rating:

One_Star

Leave a Reply

