BONUS BOOK: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634
“They say you came back different. Came back wrong. I never bothered to tell them I think you came back right. Came back right at last.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Romance, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.”

Review: I had no idea until about 200 pages from the end of A Court of Wings and Ruin that this was the “last” book from Feyre’s perspective! However, I discovered through some research that Maas is planning on writing additional novels that focus on other characters in the series. While I know that many readers are particularly obsessed with Feyre and Rhysand, I’m actually really looking forward to those future novels, as Feyre has never been my favorite character. Regardless, I thought A Court of Wings and Ruin did a nice job of wrapping up this chapter in Prythia’s history. While I did feel like Maas did an unnecessary character dump at the end of the novel (although this made more sense once I learned that she plans to continue the series, albeit with different narrators), I did appreciate the character development in the main cast, particularly that of Nesta. There were several instances where I genuinely laughed out loud, most often because of a Nesta/Cassian exchange. Personally, I think the Throne of Glass series outshines the Court series, but Maas never fails to offer her readers a humorous and exciting escape into other realms.

Rating:

Three_Star

Leave a Reply

