BONUS BOOK: A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

GOT
“Wind and words. Wind and words. We are only humans and the gods have fashioned us for love. That is our great glory, and our great tragedy.”

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction

Book Jacket Synopsis: “Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; and a determined woman undertakes the most treacherous of journeys. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win the deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.”

Review: Readers, be warned:

this_post

I’ve taken the plunge! After years of debating, I finally decided to start reading George R. R. Martin’s epic fantasy series. I’ve been an avid watcher of the Game of Thrones television series, but held off on reading the books, largely because committing to a series that already exceeds 3,000 combined pages and has two more novels (allegedly) on the way seemed daunting. However, I was extremely disappointed with the final season of the television series (so much good character development thrown out the window!) and decided to read the books in the hopes that GRRM will a) finish the series and b) craft an ending that is more satisfying and plausible. I didn’t feel like any of the choices the directors made for the final Game of Thrones season were out of the question, but I also didn’t feel like they put the time and work into making those decisions feel authentic (*cough* Daenerys *cough*). Given GRRM’s propensity for mammoth novels, I imagine that regardless of how he decides to end the series, it won’t leave me feeling quite as whiplashed.

So. I’m late to the party, but I’m here! Prior to starting this book, many people told me that the first season of Game of Thrones was extremely loyal to the first book. Unfortunately, having watched the show definitely diminished my experience of reading this novel because, thanks to that plot loyalty, I knew everything that was going to happen. GRRM is renowned (and perhaps sometimes reviled?) for his level of detail. I think detail is essential to pull off a fantasy novel, especially one that takes place in an entirely new world; that being said, I felt like A Game of Thrones dragged because I always knew what was coming next. The extra details slowed down the plot.

In general, when books are turned into movies or shows, I typically prefer whichever version I experienced first. When that isn’t the case, I almost always prefer the book to the screen adaptation, because reading the book provides a more nuanced background than can be compressed into a television episode or film. For A Game of Thrones, I wish I had read the book before watching the show. I wonder how I would have imagined the characters if I didn’t have their real-world counterparts permanently ingrained in my mind. However, I’ve also heard that the show and books diverge as you make your way through the series, so I’m excited to keep reading and see what more the books have to offer. GRRM’s writing may not be the most beautiful prose I’ve ever read, but I appreciate his attention to detail, world-building, and ability to balance a huge cast of characters .

“He had no choice, he had told her, and then he left, choosing.”

Rating:

Three_Star

 

One thought on “BONUS BOOK: A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

Leave a comment